Council Members

Parish councillors are elected or co-opted volunteers from the parish and carry out their role as a public service  without any form of payment. Just like Borough and County Councillors, they must agree to be bound  by a code of conduct which requires them to undertake their duties fairly, impartially and honestly in the public interest. They must also disclose any pecuniary interests that they might have and which might prove to be a conflict of interest with their role as Councillors.  Further information about the Code of Conduct and declarations of pecuniary interest of Loversall Parish Councillors can be found on the ‘Documents’ page

The numbers of councilors varies according to the size of the parish and Loversall Parish has five councilors. A Chairperson is elected/ re-elected by Councillors at the Annual Meeting of the Council each year.

Four of Loversall’s Councillors (Cllrs Wright, Wilson, Tomlinson, Barbour) were duly elected unopposed in May 2015. A fifth (Spencer Morris) was co-opted to fill a vacancy. Subsequently, Cllr Pat Barbour moved out of the Parish and  Nicola Harris was co-opted in 2017 to fill the vacancy.


YOUR Councillors


Councillor since December 2004. Chairman since March 2013. Retired, former Director of a health management consultancy firm. Background in public health, research and management. Formerly Professor of Community Care at Sheffield University/Visiting Professor at Leeds University, NHS Trust Chief Executive and Special Adviser to Department of Health – implementing national standards of health care. A Welshman by background, Keith has lived in Doncaster since 1975 and Loversall since 2004.

Cllr K V Wilson disclosure of interests

COLIN WRIGHT : Councillor since May 2015. Colin has an engineering background but has had a very wide range of other business interests.  Alongside the running of his engineering company he is now primarily a property developer specialising in residential and commercial developments across the UK. Until recently the official sponsor for Doncaster Rovers. Was previously  a parish councillor in Blaxton,  aged 19.

Cllr C Wright disclosure of interests

SPENCER MORRIS : Councillor since June 2015.  A qualified accountant and Finance Director of a large trading company. Experienced in private and public sector finance, and recently volunteered to become examiner for Loversall, Wadworth and Balby church accounts. A relatively new arrival in Loversall

Cllr S Morris disclosure of interests

NIGEL TOMLINSON: Councillor since may 2015. Extensive experience in business enterprise in the UK and abroad. A member of the Sheffield Institute for International Development, Sheffield University. Formerly Chief Executive of Sheffield Chamber of Commerce. Nigel is a management consultant and serves as a non executive director on a number of company boards and organisations.

Cllr N.Tomlinson disclosure of interests

NICOLA HARRIS: Co-opted in July 2017 to replace Dr Pat Barbour who  now lives out of the area. Nicola is an experienced Parish Councillor (having  previously served from 2007 -2015). She has a background in preschool and childcare provision and has a young family of her own.

Cllr N Harris disclosure of interests


Clerk to the Council

 LINDSAY WILSON: Appointed August 2015.  Lindsay has lived in Loversall since 2004 and, in addition to her clinical and managerial experience in the NHS, has also held the post of Chief Officer in both the statutory  and voluntary sectors.  The Clerk does not have voting rights but is the Council’s “Proper Officer”,  “Responsible Financial Officer” and the official point of contact for correspondence and communication with the Parish Council.


What is a parish Council

It is a statutory local authority set up under the Local Government Act 1972 and is sometimes referred as the “first tier” of democratic Government. It covers a defined geographical area called a civil parish.  Parish Councils are secular organisations and have no formal connection with Parochial Church Councils (executive committees of the Church of England).

Funding for activities undertaken by the Council is raised as a parish precept – a local addition to the Council Tax for each household. The powers of Parish Councils are set out in legislation and the precept can be spent in exercising any of these powers.  In any situation not covered by one of the specific powers a council may also spend a capped amount of money for a purpose which, in its opinion, is of direct benefit to its area or to the inhabitants.

The Council comprises the Parish Councillors (elected members) and Parish Clerk (the “official”). The Clerk carries out the administration of the Council and has responsibility for ensuring that the Council’s business and its finances are run according to law. The Clerk does not have voting rights on the Council but supports and advises the Parish Councillors who take the decisions. Unusually, Loversall also has a young persons’  representative.

A note about the role of Parish Councils with special reference to Loversall Parish Council  along with a note about the statutory powers of parish councils  can be found on the ‘Documents’ page

The Parish Council is legally required to comply with the Data Protection Act of 1998.